Due to increased fire risk, the N.C. Forest Service has issued a ban on all open burning and has canceled all burning permits statewide effective at 5 p.m. on Monday, November 29, 2021, 5 p.m. The statewide burn ban prohibits the burning of yard debris, trash, lumber, or other debris.
A statewide burn ban is in place for North Carolina until further notice. Yes, you can barbecue. No, you cannot burn leaves, branches etc. Campfires are considered opening burning so that is a no. #ncwx #wildfire pic.twitter.com/XEnLrxpkcK— Kaitlin Wright (@wxkaitlin) November 30, 2021
According to NCDA&CS, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Service, ” Under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits all open burning in affected counties, regardless of whether a permit was previously issued.”
The burn ban includes all outdoor burning other than grilling. A fire could spread quickly with gusty winds, low relative humidity, and dry brush. The week will bring these conditions. North Carolina is currently experiencing mild drought conditions. Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $183 court costs. Any person responsible for setting a fire may be liable for any expenses related to exterminating the fire.